comments 4

Help me to see…

This morning in our classroom we were prompted to write about how we, as writers and prospective teachers, can help others to see the value in a public education.

My immediate response was, “Oh shoot, I don’t think I even had an inkling of the value of public schools until I took a college class on it! How am I supposed to take that and translate it for my friends, family, roommates, and acquaintances that have no interest in the field of education?”

In the education program here at Colorado State University, a big emphasis has been put on the institution of the public school in a Democracy. If we are to live in a nation where the general public is going to have a hand in making policy decisions, then it stands to reason that that public ought to be educated. They ought to be able to parse through the slew of information and make decisions based on the information they have.

So here I sit, thinking, “how do we get most of our information?”

I see my generation getting immense amounts of information on policy and politic, and the world at large, via social media. For my parents their media outlet was mostly news broadcasts on T.V. Before that there was the radio and News Papers. But all of these things have one thing in common.

They all rely on various amounts of literacy to be effective.

Unless you understand the conventions of the English language, you will have a difficult time absorbing, understanding, and thinking about the information that is presented in and about our democracy. So, I guess that’s where I would start. Public education is important because it teaches us to listen and to read and to argue and to learn.

I know that doesn’t necessarily answer the question. But its a start.

Filed under: Uncategorized

About the Author

Posted by

I am Charlie Eich. I am a student, friend, and occasionally, a writer. Native to the great state of Colorado. This site is where you will find any and all words of mine. Whether they be a short story, poem, or simply thoughts, these are the things I found worthy of the world wide web. Enjoy.

4 Comments

  1. Charlie, I totally agree that education is the key to education. The world needs to be literate in order to speak, understand, process, and share information. I like this idea, or at least your “start” of one. I hope you continue to think about it and maybe come up with the next step of this process/idea/answer.
    -Kendall

  2. I also have struggled with the topic of the importance of public education. I’ve never truly thought about the topic until this class, so now I have a lot of thinking to do and ideas to sort out. I also completely agree that it is difficult to discuss public education with people who truly don’t care about it.
    I’ve tried having the conversation with friends since we started the discussion in class, and the common response is something along the lines of “nice”. This then creates a problem because I need to talk about the subject to figure out what I truly believe, but this is more of a personal problem.
    I agree that the public needs to be educated in order to make decisions on public education, but I see issues with this as well. I think every single person receives a different education, and therefore policy decisions are influenced by such a variety of ideas. People go to different schools, have different teachers, take a different amount of sick days, and care about their education on different levels, so how can we come together to make the best decisions for future students? I suppose this is more of a rhetorical question because I don’t know if there’s much of an answer. Thanks for making me think more about this topic!

  3. Pops

    I was thinking more in terms of public vs. private, but maybe I’m overstepping. If I’m not, you have the advantage of having experienced both. Yet I think whether public or private, the question may be the same…This vexes me.

Leave a Comment

