comments 3

PAUSE (||)

Stop. Stop reading this.

Did you?

If you didn’t, here’s another chance.

If you’re still reading, now you get to stop and take a breath. Big deep breath in, hold it, then let it out.

Still reading? Close your eyes and breathe again, and do it for at least five full breaths.

Many of my fellow classmates are feeling overwhelmed with their UGP. I, somehow don’t feel overwhelmed, but I think it is because I’m in denial about the fact that I present my poster on Tuesday, and haven’t even thought about starting.

Breathe in. Breathe out.

It’ll be okay. It may be a late night. It may be a late night tomorrow. But it will get done. This is doable, and honestly, I’m not too worried about it. But, if one of my classmates reads this, pause. Breathe in. Breathe out. Do this as long as you need. Then, when you’re feeling better (which you certainly will. If not, we can work on that and do some Zen breathing next class) then jump back into your UGP. But don’t jump into the deep end. Wade in. Take it one step at a time. Go back to your badging requirements and your to-do list and cross off one thing at a time.

Breathe in. Breathe out.

You don’t move a mountain all at once. You start by moving small stones.

Filed under: Uncategorized

About the Author

Posted by

I am Charlie Eich. I am a student, friend, and occasionally, a writer. Native to the great state of Colorado. This site is where you will find any and all words of mine. Whether they be a short story, poem, or simply thoughts, these are the things I found worthy of the world wide web. Enjoy.

3 Comments

  1. The beginning of this reminds me of something telling me to not press a red button… I’m learning more and more that humor is really important to remember- even when you’re sad.

  2. I actually did the breathing when I read this post, and I felt so much better! Approximately one week into teaching, I figured out that students complete one project so that you can grade 150+ of them–or in the case of our class, 17. Not complaining! Just saying, in other words, sometimes “graders” feel overwhelmed, too. (Which is why you should never assign something that is boring to grade. Good thing these badges are pretty fascinating!)

  3. Reasons I would choose to be an English teacher over a math teacher… nothing against math, but…

Leave a Comment

