comments 3

We’re almost there…

It was a late night last night.

And the night before.

Yeah, I eventually just got to where I had procrastinated too much on this project for it to become something I was truly proud of. The killer, the head of the Hydra that just kept getting me, was the Digital Documentation Log. This really just meant the “Table of Contents” for all of our work. All I had to do was copy and paste links from all the content I had created.

But I didn’t wanna!

I wan’t to work on the screenplay, but I’d missed the point. I realized tonight, as I’m putting the finishing touches on my project, that the Digital Documentation Log may have been the key to this. I got distracted by the shiny thing at the end, but wasn’t willing to get my hands dirty on the way there. Ultimately, the shiny thing at the end got tarnished because of this.

If I had spent more time on the Digital Documentation Log, I think I might have dedicated more effort to the How-To book. At that point, I would have been more versed in the particulars of screenwriting. I would have spent more time actually reading scripts, and had a better idea of how action and character are developed in this genre. Then, my final product would have reflected that extra push.

Hindsight is 20/20.

I did learn though. In the words of Arthur Wayne in the Christopher Nolan film, Batman Begins: Why do we fall Bruce? So that we can learn to pick ourselves up. Sometimes cranking out a project and being dissatisfied with the result is the place that the most learning happens. Going back to the primary tenets of this project, you can’t grow unless you wobble. I’ve wobbled, and I’ve wobbled more than I realized as I was going through the project. But there’s just one head left on this monster. I will finish you before the night is done. Down with thee beast! I am stronger now that I’ve tumbled through this project.

I’m also more caffeinated than I was earlier today. Bladed.

Gif Credit

3 Comments

  1. Ah, the jig is up! You’re on to my not-so-dastardly method of designing smaller tasks that lead to a larger task and timing them accordingly! Welp, my work is done.

Leave a Comment