comment 1

To A Teacher

Dear Mr. Hise,

After talking to Trevin again the other day, I was reminded of the kind of teacher you were. I remember everyone loving your class, but that work got done in your class too. It was eighth grade and man, we were the absolute worst. But you just dealt it right back to us in a way that didn’t alienate us, but made us feel like you respected us.

You gave Trevin some comic books and helped him to love alternative media as an art, and he is pursuing those things to this day.

I remember your assignment to draw a political cartoon, and to this day I am ashamed of what I drew, but with your instruction it was certainly effective.

Because of you, and your colleague Mr. Cash, I fell like I have a good idea of the story of American History since the nation’s inception, and know why the word “Mercantilism” is important in that story.

In a hard year, the year where students face their insecurities that reared their head in 7th grade head-on, you showed us what it looked like to be an adult. You didn’t operate under the premise of professional first, though you were professional, but rather as honest. And, in the words of José Vilson, honesty in your case wasn’t about how much you shared, but how much you shared of what you shared.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

A grateful student.

Filed under: Uncategorized

About the Author

Posted by

I am Charlie Eich. I am a student, friend, and occasionally, a writer. Native to the great state of Colorado. This site is where you will find any and all words of mine. Whether they be a short story, poem, or simply thoughts, these are the things I found worthy of the world wide web. Enjoy.

1 Comment so far

  1. Pops

    Why am I the only Eich boy who missed out on Mr. Hise? Thankfully, I had some of his ilk to teach me as well. Guess we’ll have to wait and see about any future Eich boys?

Leave a Comment

